The Global Voice in a Global Conversation


WFE conducts its work through several Board and Member committees and Working Groups. The committees meet regularly, set the agenda for the Committee and contribute to the output. The WFE Office supports each Committee.


Policy Committee:

The PC is a Board-led Committee and steers WFE’s advocacy work.
Chairman: Bryan Durkin, President of CME Group

Governance & Nomination Committee:

The GNC is led by a non-board member exchange with a combination of Board and non-Board members. It oversees Director elections and advises the Board on Governance matters.
Chairman: Robert Scharfe, CEO of Bourse du Luxembourg

Finance Committee:

The Committee is Board-led and oversees all financial matters of the Federation including the Annual Budget.
Chairman: Andreas Preuss, Deputy CEO of Deutsche Boerse AG

Membership Review Committee:

The Committee is Board-led with a combination of Board and non-Board members. It is conducting a root-and-branch review of all aspects of membership, including criteria and process.
Chairman: Nicky Newton-King, CEO of the Johannesburg Stock Exchange

WFE Working Committee:

The WoCo is Board-led and regarded as the second most powerful governing body of the WFE. The Chairman of the Working Committee is an Officer of the Board. It is open to all members and sets the broad agenda for the Federation. The WoCo meets at least 3 times a year including at the General Assembly and focuses on the market structure issues most relevant to members. It combines public policy work with capacity building sessions and seminars and is a forum where significant stakeholders engage with WFE members.
Chairman: Edward T. Tilly, Chairman & CEO, CBOE Holdings, Inc.

Working Groups:

Working Groups are a subset of the Working Committee and are issue and topic-specific. The Working Groups set the agenda, steer the work and report back regularly to the Working Committee.

The Heads of Communications Group (COMMSG):

The Cyber Security Working Group (GLEX):

Chairman: Bobby Singh, VP, Chief Information Security Officer, TMX Group

The Emerging Market Working Group (EMWG):

Chairman: Mohamed Farid, Chairman, The Egyptian Exchange

Vice-Chair: Hector Orlando, Vice-President, Bolsa de Comercio de Buenos Aires

Vice-Chair: Dr. Pakorn Peetathawatchai, Senior Executive Vice President, Head of Corporate Strategy & Finance & Investment, The Stock Exchange of Thailand

The Financial Education & Literacy Study Group (FESG):

Chairman: Hiroshi Nakamura, Director, Corporate Communications Planning, Japan Exchange Group, Inc.

Vice-Chair: Ailish Byrne, Head of Public Affairs & Communications, Irish Stock Exchange

Vice-Chair: Andre Eduardo Demarco, Director of Educational Institute, B3 SA Brasil Bolsa Balcão

The Physical Security Working Group (WeSec):

Chairman: Thomas Geppert, Head of Corporate Security, Deutsche Boerse AG

The SME Working Group (SMEWG):

Chairman: Nick Thadaney, President and CEO, Global Equity Capital Markets, TMX Group Inc.

Vice-Chair: Robin Jezek, Vice President, Head of Government Affairs, Euronext

Vice-Chair: Fuzhong Liu, Director, International Department, Shenzhen Stock Exchange

The Sustainability Working Group (SWG):

Chairman: Evan Harvey, Director, Corporate Sustainability, Nasdaq

Vice-Chair: Sonia Favaretto, Sustainability Officer, B3 SA Brasil Bolsa Balcão

Vice-Chair: Medhat Nafei, Chief Risk Officer, The Egyptian Exchange

The Statistics Advisory Group (SAG):

Chairman: Frank Hatheway, Senior Vice President, Nasdaq

Vice-Chair: Marc Berthoud, Executive Director, Data & Index Products Deputy Head, SIX Swiss Exchange Ltd

The Post Trade Working Group (PTWG):

Chairman: Christer Rydberg, Senior Vice President, Head of Risk Policy, Singapore Exchange

Vice-Chair: David Wilkinson, Senior Legal Counsel, LME Clear

Vice-Chair: Sean Downey, Executive Director, Global Clearing and Risk Policy, CME Group