Notice: Undefined variable: indexpage in /home/wfe/public_html/focus/2011-05/header.php on line 49
WFE Focus April 2011

ASEAN Brand Identity launched

A collaboration of seven stock exchanges in ASEAN was formalized with the launch of ASEAN Brand Identity, ASEAN Exchanges website and ASEAN Stars. The ASEAN Exchange members are: Bursa Malaysia, Hanoi Stock Exchange, HoChiMinh Stock Exchange, Indonesia Stock Exchange, Philippine Stock Exchange, Singapore Exchange and Stock Exchange of Thailand.

Australian Securities Exchange releases 2010 share ownership study

The Australian Securities Exchange released its 2010 share ownership study which indicates that approximately 7.3 m people, or 43% of the adult Australian population, own shares either directly (via shares or other listed investments) or indirectly (via unlisted managed funds). The total ownership level has increased from 41% when the study was last conducted in 2008. The percentage of investors owning shares directly has increased to 30% up from 25% in 2008. Internationally, the finding that 43% of adult Australians own shares continues to rank Australia among the leading share-owning nations in the world on a per capita basis. The full report is available at:

Consortium of Canadian banks launches TMX bid

A consortium of Canadian banks and pension funds have made a C$3.6 billion offer for TMX Group. TMX Group confirmed that it has received a bid from the group of four banks and five pension funds under the name Maple Group Acquisition Corporation. Maple is offering C$48 a share, 70% in cash and the rest in shares.

The Maple members are understood to be Toronto-Dominion Bank, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, National Bank of Canada, Caisse de Depot et Placement du Quebec, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, Alberta Investment Management and Fonds de Solidarite des Travailleurs du Quebec. 

IOSCO appoints Executive Committee and Technical Committee Chairs

The International Organization of Securities Commissions announced the appointment of Maria Helena Santana as Chairperson of IOSCO’s Executive Committee. Ms. Santana will take up her appointment at the close of the Annual Conference in Cape Town on 21 April 2011. Her term will run until 2012 when IOSCO will merge its constituent committees into the IOSCO Board. Mr. Fulin Shang, Chairman of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, will continue in his role as Vice-Chairman. The organization also appointed Mr. Masamichi Kono, as Chairman of IOSCO’s Technical Committee. Mr. Kono is the Vice Commissioner for International Affairs at the Financial Services Agency of Japan.

Notice: Undefined variable: indexpage in /home/wfe/public_html/focus/2011-05/footer.php on line 4
Designed by Tayburn Kurumsal