Irish Stock Exchange  
Tel : 353 1 617 4200
Fax : 353 1 677 6045



Chairman : Mr. Padraic O'Connor

Chief Executive : Mrs. Deirdre Somers


Types of Securities Traded

Name of Trading Systems

(cash and derivatives)

Trading Hours



Equities, ETF, Debt securities (GEM)



ISE Xetra

6:30  to 17:15

Irish Government Bonds

Euro MTS, Brokertec and BGC Partners

8:00 to 16:30


Supervisory Body

Central Bank of Ireland

Name of Clearing & Settlement Organization

Equities and ETFs trading on ISE Xetra are settled in Euroclear UK & Ireland and cleared by Eurex Clearing AG if CCP eligible. Debt securities are settled in Euroclear Bank Brussels, DTCC or Clearstream Banking Luxembourg.

Irish Government Bonds are settled via Euroclear Bank Brussels.

Settlement Cycle

T+3, although alternative settlement periods can be bilaterally negotiated for non CCP-trades.

Name of Central Securities Depository

For equities and ETFs, the CSD is Euroclear UK & Ireland.

For debt securities, three CSDs are recognise: Euroclear Bank Brussels, DTCC and Clearstream Banking Luxembourg.

For Irish Government Bonds, the CSD is Euroclear Bank.

Commissions on Transactions levied by Exchange

There are no commissions applied by the Exchange other than normal exchange bargain charges. Stamp duty of 1% is payable on the purchase of Irish equities to the Irish revenue (it is not payable on ETFs and Irish Government bonds).

Taxes on Dividends, Interests

Depends on residency and domicile of individual/entity involved.

2013 Share ownership thresholds (%)

There is a requirement on an individual/entity to disclose "major interests in shares", which is a holding of 3% or more of the voting share capital of a company listed on the Irish Stock Exchange.

Short selling (Yes / No)


Short selling conditions (if any)

As determined by the Short Selling Regulations (No. 236/2012).

1st January
29th March
1st April
6th May
3rd June
24th December
25th December
26th December
31st December
This page was last updated on: 08/07/2013 - 11:36